Lifestyle

Chronicles of a Sober Sally

Dear Diary,

Today is Monday March 6 and I have successfully survived my first weekend without any alcohol. Friday we started our date night by having dinner at Longhorn Steakhouse. When the waiter took our drink order, we ordered a sweet tea and water with a lemon. Who goes out to dinner on a Friday night and doesn’t get at least one beer? Do people actually go to restaurants just for the food? Like is that a thing? We took a glance at the drink menu and threw it under the table. Not today Satan, not today! After dinner we drove over to Alamo Draft House to watch a movie. The movie ended and we found ourselves at HEB in the ice cream isle. Boyfriends idea, not mine. The next morning I woke up early, went to workout and then spent the entire day doing a DIY  CLICK HERE FOR DIY. I’m not going to lie, wine did cross my mind a few times, but I stayed strong. Mad props to Mat for making it all weekend as well. 35 days to go.

XOXO Sober Sally

DSC_1031_edited


Dear Diary,

Today is Sunday March 12 and I’ve successfully gone through another week and weekend with no alcohol. Friday we had dinner at EZ’s and then ended the night watching COPS. Bad boys, bad boys, whatcha gonna do? Whatcha gonna do when they come for you? Nobody no we ah no wayayyyy. Idk what it really says but that’s how I sing it. Saturday morning my mom, Alexa and I took off to the Witte Museum to see the new dinosaur exhibit. After the Witte we did some shopping and I ended up with some new beauty products, Alexa got some new clothes and Mat was unfortunate. We then went to eat at Tomatillo’s. Of course we picked a restaurant that has an enormous selection of margaritas. Not only is the selection huge but the margaritas themselves are huge too. Note to self: I must go back when Lent is over. Sunday was spent doing a DIY with Alexa CLICK HERE FOR DIY, cleaning, laundry and arguing with Mat about what color to paint the chairs that have been on the back porch for months. We ended the weekend eating homemade chili and watching The Walking Dead. Life without alcohol isn’t so bad. 27 days to go.

XOXO Sober Sally


Dear Diary,

Today is Wednesday March 15 and it is my last day of work until Monday. Normally, I probably would have stopped at the store and gotten some wine. LOL “probably”, who am I kidding, I for sure would have. But instead Alexa and I stopped at Target and bought stuff that I’m 100% sure neither one of us needed. That is all.

XOXO Sober Sally

DSC_1166


Dear Diary,

Do I have a story for you. Let me start out by saying that today is Friday the 17th. It is 10pm, Alexa is asleep, people are out celebrating St. Patty’s day and I’m here on the couch about to tell you about our experience. Let me go back to 5 am this morning…we wake up and get ready to make a 4 hour drive to Dinosaur Valley State Park. I’m driving, I have my huge cup of coffee right next to me, snacks are in the back with Alexa and everything is perfect. We arrive, park and start our hike. We come across some dinosaur tracks that are in knee high water. No big deal right? WRONG! The water was absolutely freezing! It was so cold that it made your feet and legs hurt, but we put our big girl panties on and toughed it out. After that we wanted to go see more dinosaur tracks so we checked out the map and then took off in what we thought was the right direction. Again…WRONG! We walked for who knows how long. Every now and then we would be like “I wonder why no ones out here” but never did we think that maybe no one was out there because we were no longer in the park. We apparently don’t know how to read a map and we ended up walking out of the park into country people territory. We even went as far as hopping a barbed wire fence, crossing a creek, hiking through weeds and thorns and walking in a dry river bed. Don’t get me wrong, it was all actually really fun…up until we came across a shed that looked rather questionable. Right next to the shed there was an old torn up boot, and then my mom felt the need to make a reference to the hills have eyes and that’s when I got freaked out. I didn’t have service out there so I never once thought to look at my phone to see where we were. I pulled out my phone and opened up maps and to my disbelief we were about a mile out from the park. You know how parks are green on maps? Yeah we weren’t anywhere near the green. So there we go retracing our steps through the weeds and back over the barbed wire fence. We ended up crossing the freezing river about 6 times. Finally after what seemed like forever we saw people! We really got a taste of what Dora the Explorer must go through on a daily basis. At least she knows how to read a map though.

XOXO Sober Sally


Dear Diary,

Today is the Sunday of St. Patrick’s day weekend and mannnnn was I tempted to have a beer yesterday. Ashley came into town from Marble Falls and we started the day off by eating at Spaghetti Warehouse. We stuffed our faces so much that we couldn’t even eat our desert. Our first stop after that was Pat O’Brien’s on the river walk. They had live music, it was loud and packed and everyone was wearing green. I wanted nothing more than to join them in the celebration. Ash ordered a beer and I ordered a water. The entire time she kept saying “Just drink ONE beer and pray EXTRA hard tonight.” what a great friend huh? After Pat O’s we went to On the Rocks, and again, I ordered a water but not without Ash telling the bartender to add vodka in it (it didn’t happen). From there we went to one last bar and had one last drink. We then began our sober .7 mile walk back to the car. As we passed one of the bars someone yelled out to us “Hey, y’all want a beer?” and in my head I replied “YES, YES I DO, just not with you!”. Now, you may be thinking, how can someone go to a bar and be around a bunch of drunk people and not drink? Eh, it wasn’t that hard. As long as I have water to drink I’m good, and this all happened around 4PM so people weren’t too incredibly wasted yet. Going out at night though might be a different story. A story I hopefully will never have to tell.

XOXO Sober Sally

IMG_6409[1]


Dear Diary,

It is now the 26th day of March. Today was spent making what seemed like an endless amount of jelly fish. As soon as I finished with one order, I swear my phone would go off letting me know a new order had just been placed. My house has jelly fish hanging all over it. Yesterday we went to farmers market at The Pearl and bought Alexa some new baby succulents. We then waited wayyy too long in line for a clown (no, not Mat) to make a balloon animal for the princess (again, no not Mat). Once we got home we decided to pay the pool a visit. Despite it being warm outside the water was still unbearably cold. Alexa ate Cheetos out of her goggles for about 10 minutes before deciding she wanted to go home because her “bones were freezing”. We had plans to go have dinner at Paesano’s but once we got home Alexa showered and passed out on the couch. We never wake a sleeping monster so we settled with Dairy Queen’s drive through. We will now end our Sunday watching The Walking Dead and pretending to be zombies ourselves.  21 days to go.

XOXO Sober Sally


Dear Diary,

Low and behold we are now in APRIL!!! The time is going by like crazy. This weekend was spent like any other weekend. Lots of jelly fish making, shopping and Mat working in the garage trying to bring new life into these mid-century furniture pieces that we’ve collected. Alexa went with her dad so it’s oddly quiet around the house. Which sure, quiet is nice sometimes, but I miss her loud laugh and pitter patter of her feet. I’m sitting here on the couch in a food coma because we just got back from eating at Gristmill in Gruene. We sat outside right over the river and the weather could not have been more perfect. Mat ordered chicken and I ordered a steak and we both got sweet tea. Everything was absolutely phenomenal except for the fact that we had to watch everyone there enjoy their alcoholic beverages right in our face. It was Mat’s first time there and his exact words were “This is my new favorite place but why would you bring me here when we can’t drink? This is a perfect outside drinking spot.” and he could not be more right. So guess who has a date there in 2 weeks?! Us! I can already taste that margarita.

XOXO Sober Sally


Dear Diary

This is it! This was our last sober weekend! The end is near my friends. As sad as this sounds, never did I think we would be able to go 40 days without drinking. I take that back, I knew I could but I didn’t have much faith in Mat. Friday night we went to the movies and had an endless amount of buttered popcorn. Saturday was spent having a little photoshoot with Alexa in our driveway. Don’t worry, Mat participated as well. For dinner we went to this BBQ place that not only had live music but a play scape as well. Double win! It would have been a triple win because they also served alcohol but we all know I can’t indulge in that right now.  At one point Alexa came up to us and said that these two older girls kept looking at her and pointing and laughing. As she was telling me this I looked over to the play scape and the two girls were looking at us so my crazy mom instinct kicked in and I gave them the meanest death glare I could. I’m sure I ended up looking more like Zoolander but whatever. We began our Sunday with brunch in Southtown and ended with snow cones at Bahama Bucks. The 7 day countdown has begun!

XOXO Sober Sally


Dear Diary,

We have made it to the end!!! Today is the day!! We have gone a full 40 days and 40 nights with no alcohol. I thought about it often, but that doesn’t count. I cannot wait to have our first alcoholic drink later today! I think I’m a little too happy about this. These past 40 days have been full of DIYs, refurbishing furniture and coffee…lots and lots of coffee. Did I have fun without alcohol? Sure. Do I NEED alcohol to have fun? Nah. But you know what they say…you don’t need tennis to run, but it helps. Did I accomplish one of my goals of losing weight by not drinking? HA! NO! Did I save any money from not going out? HA! NO! So let’s all just laugh together. Eh its alright. Now lets move on to newer and better things!! CHEERS!!!

XOXO Sober(ish) Sally


Leave a Reply

